Molly the Monkey

I have been knitting for about 43 years, my mum taught me to knit and my gran taught me to crochet, my mum can’t crochet and my gran couldn’t knit, so I reckon I was lucky there.

When my boys were babies I always had kitting in my hands. I remember knitting a beautiful shawl on circular needles for Edward, who is now 26.  I did most of this while traveling 50 miles to the hospital for ante natal appointments.  We lived in Germany and I had to travel from Soest to Iserlohn, and thats quite a way when you are pregnant.  It’s also quite a way when you are in labour…

Anyway, lots of baby knitting, I can think of only one jacket I made for me that I actually finished and that must have been about 1981.  The yarn was bought in Germany, and I had never seen yarn like it.  I remember it being chunky and only cheap, but it was beautiful, a deep dark red 100% wool, which draped in just the right way – my mum and I had never seen anything like it in the UK.  I was still wearing it in 1996.  Excellent quality.

These days I have no babies to knit for, but I do have a friend in Canada who has a granddaughter who loves monkeys. So here is Molly monkey.  She enjoys playing in the trees and does like to do a bit of gardening.The pattern is from Fuzzy Mitten – sorry still haven’t got the link thing sorted yet.

So Molly is off to Canada in the morning.  Bon Voyage Molly!

One Response

  1. awww she’s adorable.. and will definitely be well loved.. thanks

Leave a Reply

