The Embroiderer’s Guild

Over Christmas my lovely friend Joan came to see me and brought another friend with her.  Kath is the secretary of the local branch of the embroiderer’s guild.  Joan in her wisdom, thought I would like to meet her and maybe get out for an evening to go to a meeting of the guild. While we were having coffee and chatting we were discussing my hand looms and I was able to show Kath how to weave on them.  She liked them so much that she went and ordered one from Teresinah at Wild Colours – see blog roll.

Speaking of Wild Colours, I ordered a 14″ loom from there a while ago, I was dying for it to arrive and guess what?   The post office managed to lose it!  Teresinah and I were emailing each day, wondering if it was ever going to arrive.  In the end you have to wait for 19 days before you can inform the post office that it has not arrived and they consider it lost.

In the end Teresinah decided that it would be best if she came up to Sheffield by train from Birmingham and brought my replacement loom with her.

It was a filthy day when I met her at the station, pouring with rain and so we hurried to the nearest Starbucks for and cup of coffee and to get warm and dry. The photo shows Teresinah with two cushions, the circular pattern is couched onto the weaving using yarn that she has spun and dyed with natural dyes.  The photo does not do it justice, it really was fabulous.  The other cushion is spun and dyed the same way.  With varigated yarns you can end up with wonderful plaids with no effort at all.

After we had done our little show and tell we wandered into the Millennium Gallery and then the Graves Art Gallery, fortunately they are across the road from each other so we didn’t get too wet.

When I got home I started weaving and here is my loom with the weaving still on it ready for me to embroider something on it. I love this loom, but oh my, it does make my arms ache!  It’s too big to have on your knee like the rest of my looms, but find that it works best resting up against the table edge.

On Wednesday I did go to the embroiderer’s guild meeting, I had been asked to take my looms and do a little show and tell, which went well.  There were some fabulous things to look at  that the other ladies had made.  And it was so nice to get out and meet new people.  At the next meeting we will be covering a note book  using Norwich stitch, which looks like this…I am so looking forward to it, and intend to practice this stitch before the meeting.

One Response

  1. sounds like alot of fun.. can hardly wait to see what you come up with…

Leave a Reply

