Weaving a shawl/wrap

I have just started weaving this gorgeous shawl by Jana Trent.  Jana put this pattern up on the online weaving magazine WeaveZine (see blogroll). The yarn that Jana used is Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool.

However being in the UK this yarn was not known, so I bought some yarn that I thought would do and gave it a try.  I used a bamboo/viscose and wool mix called Flirt by Sirdar, and the plain squares came out very well.  I could see it was going to drape beautifully.   However the lace squares were not too good, because of the smoothness of the yarn the lace pattern just sort of slid together, and I could see that I was going to have trouble blocking this.

Sooooo, I went mad and ordered the Elsebeth Lavold yarn from, Wool & Company – see blogroll.    This was the company that had the cheapest price at $7.95  so that plus postage from Illinois amounted to about $56 (£35).  I thought this was pretty good and the yarn is lovely.

A funny thing happened when I ordered the yarn, I got an email saying that they hadn’t got enough of the green I originally wanted, and Neil who wrote the email, said that my address was very familiar as he used to live a couple of miles away from me 20 years ago!  Woodseats,  Sheffield in the UK is a long long way to Saint Charles, Illinios, but somehow it’s a very very small world!

So here is the yarn I orderedI went for the gorgeous juicy orange, the photo does not do it justice, its more of a goldy orange than what you can see.  The pattern takes five skeins, but by the time I had come to take the pictures, one whole skein had been used, and I had fun with my Swift and ball winder making them into balls.  Here is what I have done so far.It takes 22 plain squares and 23 lacy squares, I think I have done about 8 of each so far. I need to get it finished by the 9th of Feb so I can take it to the next meeting of the EG.

Oh by the way, the yarn took only one week to arrive, so that’s definitely a point to Wool & Co.

Thanks for taking a look at my blog.

Leave a Reply

